Although it isn’t expected to hit number one at the box office this weekend, Ice Cube is back in theatres with this third comedic instalment of Barbershop: The Next Cut. The film takes place 10 years later with Cube’s character, Calvin, and his Barbershop mates still working at the shop, but when the community isn’t at its best, together they will bring much-needed change to their neighbourhood.

Since every film has a motion soundtrack, it’s no doubt that Barbershop: The Next Cut has one as well. The soundtrack features 16 songs from various artists that range from late-1950s funk to present day – among them, songs by Earth, Wind & Fire, the late James Brown, Luther Vandross, CeeLo Green and many more.

Although most of the soundtrack features classic hits from these talented artists, it’s quite obvious that the film’s leading actor, Ice Cube, has provided a new track for all to hear. Collaborating with co-star rapper Common in the first song of the album, “Real People,” the song represents artists coming together for fun. In the ’90s, these two talents had a rap “beef,” but it wasn’t as big of a deal as Ice Cube and his former rap group N.W.A. Now that time has passed and all wounds are healed, Cube and Common have laid it to rest on their new song, with Common even rapping, “It’s a good day when it’s me and O’Shea.”

Another new exclusive song on the soundtrack is Lizzo’s acclaimed, “Good As Hell.” The song provides self-confidence and female empowerment to walk away from a relationship that no longer feels right. Not only does it have a strong message, but it’s also very catchy and equally makes you feel “good as hell.”

The soundtrack can help you predict how the film will be based on the order of the music. It toys with your emotions because the first half of the album is joyous and fun, then the music changes to complement the climactic aspect of the film, especially on track seven, “Hold On,” by Kem, and then reverts again to the fun and upbeat music. While most of the soundtrack offers up hits, there are a few sleepers as well. Overall, though, the soundtrack is full of upbeat beats, which perfectly matches the flick.

BarberShop: The Next Cut Track Listing:

1. “Real People” (performed by Ice Cube & Common)
2. “Good as Hell” (performed by Lizzo)
3. “Working Class Heroes (Work)” (performed by CeeLo Green)
4. “Everything Is” (performed by Gabriel Garzón-Montano)
5. “It’s Just Begun” (performed by the Jimmy Castor Bunch)
6. “Let Go” (performed by Lalah Hathaway)
7. “Hold On” (performed by Kem)
8. “September” (performed by Earth, Wind & Fire)
9. “Set Me Free” (performed by Leela James)
10. “Respect Yourself” (performed by The Staple Singers)
11. “Turn Up” (performed by The Heavy)
12. “People Get Up and Drive Your Funky Soul” (performed by James Brown)
13. “Never Too Much” (performed by Luther Vandross)
14. “Future Is Mine” (performed by DJ Cassidy & Chromeo)
15. “Move On Up” (performed by Curtis Mayfield)
16. “Eyes of a Child” (performed by Aloe Blacc)

Run Time: 71:09
Release Date: April 8, 2016
Record Label: Atlantic Records, Warner Music Canada