Connect with us

Album Review

Born to Murder the World – “The Infinite Mirror of Millennial Narcissism” [Album Review]

Napalm Death meets Anaal Nathrakh and Fukpig – three of Birmingham’s finest show they are Born to Murder The World.



When it comes to creating misanthropic music, society’s descent into a cesspit provides ample material. Born to Murder the World unites three of Birmingham’s finest in extremity – Shane Embury of Napalm Death, Mick Kenney of Anaal Nathrakh, and Duncan Wilkins of Fukpig – who tap into this rich vein to create speedy grind madness on the incendiary The Infinite Mirror of Millennial Narcissism.

The opening salvo, “Brutality Alchemist”, delivers pretty much exactly what is expected on paper – exceptional riffing in the vein of Napalm and Nathrakh delivered in a rush of grindcore with touches of black metal, and Wilkins letting loose his trademark howls and snarls to add a crusty vibe. The production is pristine, everything mixed in its proper place (including realistic-sounding programmed drums), and gives places for the odd surprising touch to be nestled within the layers.

One such surprise pops out in interlude “The Death of Dreams” – in amidst the shrieks and blast beats are some subtle orchestral and cinematic parts – a potential indication of where Embury intends to go with his songwriting. [1] Meanwhile, from a compositional perspective, while many of the riffs may feel familiar to long-term fans of Kenney and Embury, they still pull out interesting patterns such as the descending one on “Poisoning Purity”, or the Behemoth-esque staccato on “Corruption Feeds Deception”. These are, however, minor side-notes in the grand scheme – it is worth bearing in mind, first and foremost, that this is a vicious, relentless listen. It’s hard to pick which part is the most intense, though Wilkins’ unhinged vocals are a joyous highlight in the cacophony – I am consistently incredulous at his ability to shift through a variety of styles, each more tortured-sounding than the last. [2]

Clocking in at 1 minute and 31 seconds, this is “Brutality Alchemist”.

Owing to the album’s brevity, there are understandably few bones to pick. It seems laughable to suggest that on an album of fifteen minutes, its second-longest song “Negativity Plague” (all two minutes and twenty nine seconds) overstays its welcome a touch. Though the record’s style is a little derivative when you factor in the innovation shown on both Napalm Death and Anaal Nathrakh records, and a couple of tracks here do blur together, it’s still an undeniably fun album.

Read our interview with Born To Murder The World / Extrinisic Recordings Grindcore Legend Shane Embury.

A lot of attention has gone into creating this whole package – from the striking artwork and song titles to the fifteen minutes of aural savagery within – which is a testament to the participants’ veteran status. The Infinite Mirror of Millennial Narcissism may not possess the same replay value as Embury and Kenney’s day jobs, but it’s still a compelling ride to take out for a spin.

The Infinite Mirror of Millennial Narcissism Track Listing:

01. When The Heart is Violated (The Universe Remembers)
02. Brutality Alchemist
03. Genesis Misconception
04. The Virus is Within us All
05. As He Creates So He Destroys
06. Penetrate the Descent
07. The Death of Dreams
08. Poisoning Purity
09. Negativity Plague
10. Corruption Feeds Deception
11. Tiyanak
12. How Barren is Life Without Sin

Run Time: 15:34
Release Date: August 24, 2018
Record Label: Extrinsic Recordings

1. As said in interview with Decibel, “for some time now I have wanted to get into recording and composing atmospheric albums/soundtrack-type recordings and, well, whatever weird and wacky ideas that come to mind.”

2. Anyone who hasn’t heard Fukpig either is in for a treat. New album Bastards right here.