Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora is the ninth studio from Washington metallers Darkest Hour and sees them crashing through twelve tracks that meld together their brand of thrashy, frantic metallic hardcore to devastating effect. Produced by Kurt Ballou, the effortless ferocity with which the Washington DC outfit career through each of the album’s tracks is breathtaking to listen to.

Right from the get-go, Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora has the feel of an old-school thrash album, as the band seemingly batter through each song without feeling the need to stop to take in oxygen. “Knife In The Safe Room”, “This Is The Truth” and “Timeless Numbers”, the first three tracks on the album fly past beneath a blur of shredding guitars and throat-bleeding vocals with the band occasionally interjecting the mayhem with a dash of melody.

Make the most of those melodic moments though as they are few and far between throughout Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora. Instead, as frontman John Henry warns during “Those Who Survived”, brace yourselves for impact because, if you’ve not got the stamina to last the course, tracks like the violent “The Flesh & The Flowers Of Death” and “Those Who Survived” will simply ruin you.

To the untrained ear, a good portion of Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora will sound like, as a work colleague described metal, “just noise pollution.” However, to the more astute metal fan, the musicianship on Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora is frighteningly on point throughout the album. Whether it’s wailing solos or just balls-out, heads-down thrash, the Washington heavyweights have produced a metal album that will certainly sort the boys out from the men.

Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora Track Listing:

01. Knife In The Safe Room
02. This Is The Truth
03. Timeless Numbers
04. None Of This Is The Truth
05. The Flesh & The Flowers Of Death
06. Those Who Survived
07. Another Headless Ruler Of The Used
08. Widowed
09. Enter Oblivion
10. The Last Of The Monuments
11. In The Name Of Us All
12. Beneath It Sleeps

Run Time: 44:48
Release Date: March 10, 2017

Check out the track “Those Who Survived”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.