Connect with us


DEATH VALLEY HIGH Post Stream of New Single “Groei Donker (Grow Dark)”

Alternative goth rockers Death Valley High have revealed the second single from their new album, CVLT [AS FVK], entitled “Groei Donker (Grow Dark)”.



Alternative goth rockers Death Valley High will release their highly-anticipated new album, CVLT [AS FVK], on November 4 via Minus Head Records. The band has now revealed the second single from their new album, entitled “Groei Donker (Grow Dark)”. The track portrays the heavier, more alternative side of CVLT [AS FVK], conjuring up ’90s hard rock influences.

Vocalist Reyka Osburn states, “Sometimes a working title sinks its nails in and rides all the way to the bitter end. In Afrikaans, “Groei Donker” means Grow Dark, and after all, we decided to keep both titles. The whole backbone of the song can be translated two ways. Initially, the song was based on tribal drums that frankensteined into a more modern hybrid; also, a pulsating bassline that grinded out a path for a more hardcore riff.

“The attitude of the song is about ‘finding’ oneself in the darkness; not about ‘losing it’. It’s not a ‘Falling Down’ statement. It’s not about abandoning the light. It’s about finding strength in the shadows… it’s about finding opportunities in the night time. It’s about going to the Upside Down and conquering it!”

CVLT [AS FVK] Track Listing:

01. Sunshine Cleaners
02. Warm Bodies
03. Psalm Bitch
04. Ick Switch
05. Play Dead
06. Groei Donker (Grow Dark)
07. The Bad Book
08. Merci [FVKT]
09. 12:13 [As Many FVKS]
10. Flowers From Amy Deville
11. Tiptoe Through 2 The Crypts
12. There Was An Old Lady

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.