Connect with us

Album Review

Bury Tomorrow – “Earthbound” [Album Review]

Built around a heartbeat of thunderous guitars, Southampton shredders Bury Tomorrow inject pristine, polished melodies and big, crunching breakdowns into the sound on their newest Nuclear Blast effort, Earthbound.



Many eyebrows were raised across the metal scene in 2012 when UK melodic metalcore kids Bury Tomorrow were picked up by metal label heavyweights Nuclear Blast. Since that day, and the release of their two albums for the label, Union Of Crowns and Runes, the band have gone from strength to strength so much so that in their new album, Earthbound, the band possess one of the most eagerly-awaited metal releases of 2016.

So, if you’ve followed the group’s career from their Union Of Crowns days (and further back if you frequented gigs on your local circuit), you’ll not be surprised to discover that Earthbound lives up to expectations. Crisp, melodic, hook-filled metalcore is the order of the day and, while it may not be that far removed from the Union Of Crowns days, the likes of “301” demonstrate how the band have fine-tuned their blueprint into something quite majestic.

Built around a heartbeat of thunderous guitars, the Southampton shredders inject pristine, polished melodies and big, crunching breakdowns into the sound with the end result being tracks like “Earthbound” and “Bloodline” where the kids at the back of the room can sing along while the kids in the pit can happily lose their minds when the breakdowns kick in.

Ever since signing with Nuclear Blast and rejuvenating their career, Bury Tomorrow have continued to improve and are now right up at the top of the pile when it comes to UK acts. However, with bands like Parkway Drive and Killswitch Engage dropping or about to drop massive albums, Earthbound is a vital release for the Southampton outfit in terms of their future career. Thankfully, listen to tracks like the crushing “Cemetary,” Earthbound demonstrates that Bury Tomorrow are more than capable of standing shoulder to shoulder with the rest of metalcore’s heavy-hitters.

Track Listing:

01. The Eternal
02. Last Light
03. Earthbound
04. The Burden
05. Cemetary
06. Restless & Cold
07. 301
08. Memories
09. For Us
10. Bloodline

Run Time: 37:44
Release Date: January 29, 2016

Check out the song “Earthbound” here.

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.