Ah, the Lostprophets. Back again with a new album titled Weapons. “Bring ‘Em Down”, the disc’s lead single, is a nice little punk rock punch in the face. The song, much like the rest of the album, gets you, swings you around and keeps its grip tight. “Jesus Walks” for example, had me singing along and I didn’t even know the lyrics… it’s that catchy!

This said, I haven’t heard anything as catchy as “We Bring An Arsenal” in a long time; it’s quite refreshing. Plain and simple, this album is fun. But this is what the Lostprophets do, they write about what they know, they create what they like and they know their audience so well that they have the ability and accessibility to cater to them. They never disappoint and can, NO, will garner new fans with this release.

With Weapons the band continues to evolve and move in the right direction. You still can’t really pinpoint a genre for them, but this album certainly smells like pop punk, and that’s not a bad thing. I feel like this can be the band’s resurgence release on North American ground, especially considering their last release The Betrayed didn’t even release here. Overall the album is very well produced and just oozes confidence. Not arrogance, but confidence. It’s full of energy and I cannot wait to hear it live.

Track Listing:

01. Bring ‘Em Down
02. We Bring An Arsenal
03. Another Shot
04. Jesus Walks
05. A Song for Where I’m From
06. A Little Reminder That I’ll Never Forget
07. Better Off Dead
08. Heart on Loan
09. Somedays
10. Can’t Get Enough

Run Time: 51:08
Release Date: June 19, 2012

Check out the song: “Bring ‘Em Down”