What do you get when you mix computers and rock? You get Datarock, who in 2009 came together to create their second full-length effort titled Red. For this release the band donned a very RED motif and among other things, dressed in pure red sweat suits for their red album artwork.

The disc itself consists 13 tracks of electro rock and by genre association alone, this perfectly describes their sound. They’ve written poppy rock music with keyboards emulating a serious digital vibe. With Red, one may feel like they’re listening to futuristic music, but in reality it’s not that far out. While seemingly from another time, Red is a decent effort, but not overly memorable.

Before I let you go I would like to leave you readers with a fun fact. The song “Amarillion” was used on an episode of the TV show Chuck (Chuck Vs. The Nacho Sampler). Cool, eh?

Track Listing:

01. The Blog
02. Give It Up
03. True Stories
04. Dance!
05. Molly
06. Do It Your Way
07. In The Red
08. Fear Of Death
09. Amarillion
10. The Pretender
11. Back In The Seventies
12. Not Me
13. New Days Dawn

Run Time: 40:43
Release Date: June 9, 2009

Check out the song: “Give It Up”