Foo Fighters are back once more, with their seventh album, Wasting Light. Lead singer Dave Grohl has been quick to boast that the band have steered away from modern technology and instead gone back to basics with analogue equipment. The question is, has the now-ageing band been able to re-light their creative fires by travelling back in time?

On first glance, it appears they have formed a loud and powerful effort, indeed, the Foo’s intentions are quickly made clear in opener “Bridge Burning” which bursts into life with Grohl snarling: “these are my famous last words.”

The massive hit single “Rope” follows and this song is vintage Foos, possessing an absolutely massive chorus akin to “The Pretender” on preceding album Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace. The next notable song is “White Limo” which is almost a carbon copy of debut album track, “Weenie Beenie”. This, another reminder that the band are trying to travel back in time.

The rest of the record continues at a high pace with classic Foo Fighter pop hooks coming at your ears from all angles. “These Days” is another stellar song and the sombre “I Should Have Known” – which builds up to a climatic finale – is the type of emotion-building song that Grohl has an incredible capability of writing time and time again.

However, while there is not a weak song within Wasting Light there is no timeless “Times Like These” or “Everlong” brilliance, but just a bunch of really good rock songs. This album is not going to blow anyone’s mind away, but there is no doubt it is a great effort and probably the best since The Colour and the Shape.

Track Listing:

01. Bridge Burning
02. Rope
03. Dear Rosemary
04. White Limo
05. Arlandria
06. These Days
07. Back & Forth
08. A Matter Of Time
09. Miss The Misery
10. I Should Have Known
11. Walk

Run Time: 48:00
Release Date: 04.12.2011

Check out the song: “Rope”