Finally! The Salads are back out with a new album; The Big Picture. I believe this is an excellent title because it is a huge release (in my eyes).

The first track on this CD, “Growing Up”, is amazing. The lyrics are about how they don’t want to grow up, they want to stay in their youth. The instrumentation sticks out; guitarist Dave Ziemba plays some very original guitar riffs, so original I haven‘t heard anything even remotely close to em‘. My most preferred part of this track is the bridge, because bassist Chuck Dailey plays some sick lines with crazy distortion. Overall, this song is very similar to The Salads I grew to love.

The sixth track on the album is “Got No Love”. I really love how the instrumentation and vocals fit hand-in-hand. The vocal distortion makes Darren Dumas’ voice sound metallic, which is different from anything I’ve heard in the past. I also love that Dailey’s bass lines are almost completely synced with Ziemba’s riffs – it sounds very interesting. I would have to say that this is another hit for the band.

The final song on the album is “Thick And Thin”. Personally, this is one of my least liked songs on the album. Don’t get me wrong, I still think it‘s an alright song, it’s just not as good as the rest of the CD. This says a lot about the album, by this song being “alright“, the rest of the album is PERFECT! The vocals in this song are soft, as well as Ziemba’s guitar, which makes everything flow smoothly into your ear.

Overall, this is without a doubt a beautiful addition to The Salads’ catalogue. Every song on the CD is amazing. I hope that we can see more albums from The Salads that are at the same level, if not higher.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Growing Up
02. Individual
03. It’s Alright
04. A Better Way
05. Seasons
06. Got No Love
07. Powerless
08. Circles
09. The First Time
10 Thick And Thin

Run Time: 38:32
Release Date: 05.09.2006