Connect with us

Album Review

Butch Walker – ‘American Love Story’ [Album Review]



At a crossroads, Butch Walker’s music came into my life and sugar-coated a bunch of hard times when I couldn’t even color inside the lines. Not always a fan of everything he put out, it came to the point where it was a love-hate relationship. Just when I thought I had him figured out, he would shift gears on me in mid-turmoil. These days, I believe he didn’t want to be pigeonholed, nor let the world know what he was capable of.

With American Love Story, I thought he was going to take a left turn at a red light, but, as usual, Walker prevailed and switched lanes at that perfect moment, navigating any final decisions. The album starts with odd Pink Floyd The Wall or QOTSA Songs for the Deaf segues and continues to do so throughout a number of original songs that entertain a play on words, song titles, and musical similarities.

There’s always one standout track that settles into your heart, and that’s “Fuck It (I Don’t Like Love),” which pretty much sums up passé midlife crises. It’s a push and shove to the front of the stage type of anthem, trying not to spill your double-fisting beer and mixed-drink technique, shouting out this phenomenal singalong chorus. However, the lyrics are not a reflection of these actions and, safely, Butch disagrees in regards to the closer, “I Forgot To Say I Love You.”

If you get down to the nitty, gritty of it, this release is about some domestic, fucked-up shit, with a full YouTube film to accompany it. But, the overcast correlation came about during a smoked or liquid lunch type consequence.

The thing about American Love Story is the transition between songs is so flawless that it’s over before you know it began. Clocking in at 43:31, this is the perfect, back-in-the-day album you would dub twice on a 45-minute blank cassette tape that haphazardly flipped itself over in a repeat loop so the lady next to you wouldn’t go through an “ahem” dry moment or awkward situation.

Butch not only has your best interest at heart, but I feel deep down inside he is looking out for all of us no matter your stance on “sexuality, religion, or politics,” nor the almighty alma mater of love. The guy is the creative force behind so many successful people – there’s no time to mention them all, but they’re worth looking up. Let’s put it this way… once Butch enters your life, everything seems to get a little bit better and “It sure would be a lot cooler if you did.”

American Love Story Track Listing:

1. The Singer
2. Gridlock
3. Flyover State
4. 6Ft Middle-Age American Man
5. F**k It (I Don’t Like Love)
6. Divided States of America
7. Out in the Open
8. Torn in the USA
9. Blinded by the White
10. Everything White
11. Pretty Crazy
12. You Gotta’ Be Just Who You Are
13. Forgot to Say I Love You

Run Time: 43:31
Release Date: May 8, 2020
Record Label: Ruby Red Recordings

I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".