Matthew Pinder, a Bahamas-based singer-songwriter, is offering a glimpse of his sincere, emotional brand of acoustic indie-folk with a free download of “Flooded,” [right click and ‘save link as‘] from the recent album Give Me Some Time. The record is Matthew’s full-length debut, and, building off of the foundation set by a previous EP, Too Young to Understand is a fresh and unrestrained collection of tracks that manages to sound naive and hopeful, yet, at the same time, refined and sure-footed.

On “Flooded,” Matthew brings us into the writing process by saying, “I had come to a point where I felt like I couldn’t write songs. I was frustrated and believed that songwriting just wasn’t for me. I called up an old English professor of mine and explained my dilemma. She challenged me to write a song a day for thirty days. She said not to overthink it, not to be overly critical with myself; just write a song each day and record it. So I made myself write each day. ‘Flooded’ came during those thirty days. In fact, several songs that are also on the album came out of that exercise. Sometimes you gotta go find the songs, they don’t always fall in your lap.”

The tune itself is a pensive, moody reflection on processing relationships through Pinder’s mould of sparse drums and soft acoustic strumming layered with eclectic lead melodies. The heart of “Flooded” though, is most definitely the earnest vocal delivery straight from Pinder’s heart and soul. If you’re looking for some thoughtful self-reflection, check out “Flooded” and the ten-track Give Me Some Time, which dropped on April 12, 2019.

Give Me Some Time Track Listing:

1. Golden Hour
2. St. Paul, MN
3. Break My Heart and Let Me Go (ft. Molly Bush)
4. Flooded
5. Give Me Some Time
6. My Demise
7. Compromise
8. Before the Fall
9. After the Fall
10. Rest

Artwork for ‘Give Me Some Time’ by Matthew Pinder