Vulvodynia have been storming with menace since 2014, releasing two full-length albums and a handful of EPs, not to mention gigging their asses off both on South African soil and abroad. They play a ferocious mash-up of slam/brutal death metal with deathcore leanings, somewhere in the region of Whoretopsy, Ingested, Disfiguring The Goddess and the like, and always sound like they’re having a delightful time doing so. Their last album, Psychosadistic Design, from 2016 was both furious and excessive, so the hype for this new record has been bristling within the slam circles.

Unlike the previous two albums, which dealt with murder and alien themes, Mob Justice (order on Bandcamp here or via Big Cartel here) is a double-barrel 12-gauge shotgun aimed at everything vile in South African day-to-day life, from crime on the streets to government corruption. I found this lyrical switcheroo really refreshing, especially as someone that lives with the same issues, and it makes all the difference in the brutality of the musical attack too (the anger boiling within the lads explodes through the speakers). Much like Slayer’s evolution from fantasy themes to war and street-level observations, it adds a new level of aggression and audio bile filtered through the eyes of a new generation that is trying to find the positives in a world of negatives.

Check out the lyric video for “Mob Justice” here:

The music, as expected, is wave after wave of slams, vicious growls, blast beats, intricate leads, and full-on death metal. Whilst this may get a little much for those not used to brutal death metal, it does make for an exciting listen that doesn’t relent for a second. That said, I would have liked a bit more of a progressive strain with wider dynamics (a personal preference), but the intention of anger is thoroughly and absolutely portrayed from beginning to end.

The production is top-notch, allowing for the all the instruments to cut through the solid distortion and just enough room to breathe, and the artwork needs to be seen to be believed – the colours, detail, and theme easily makes one of the best extreme album covers of 2019. There are also guest appearances by members of The Black Dahlia Murder, Malevolence, and Gutalax, all of which add to the overwhelming barrage of sonic blasting. We’re talking about 35 minutes of pumping adrenaline and pit-inducing sweat and blood. In abundance.

Vulvodynia hasn’t created a classic album that re-imagines the genre and how we listen to extreme music with Mob Justice, but it oozes quality and gets the point across with 100% intention. For a South African band to pull off this level of attack with all the talent and creativity involved, they can be proud of the fact that they hold their own in the international arena with a strong, brutal, and impactful record.

And the kickass video for “Nyaope” awaits your eyes and ears here:

Mob Justice Track Listing:

01. Feast
02. Mob Justice
03. Blood Diamond
04. Born Into Filth (feat. Alex Taylor of Malevolence)
05. Famine
06. Echoes Of The Motherland
07. Nyaope (feat. Martin Matoušek of Gutalax)
08. Reclaim The Crown Part I: The Burning Kingdom (Feat. Trevor Strnad of The Black Dahlia Murder)
09. Reclaim The Crown Part II: Risen From Ash
10. Cultural Misogyny

Run Time: 35 minutes
Release Date: June 30, 2019
Record Label: Lacerated Enemy Records