I am a child of the ‘80s and Culture Club pretty much dominated both MTV and the airwaves for most of that decade. It was near impossible to avoid Boy George and crew at some point during your everyday activities. The young, perhaps slightly immature version of me sort of rebelled at the thought of listening to Culture Club primarily because…well it was not metal. The thought was, if I listened to them, I would have to turn in my “Metal Card.” Over the years, the band had its share of turmoil and I never really gave them much thought until this disc made its way to me and the much older, perhaps wiser me, decided to sit down and watch it, if for nothing else then for the sake of nostalgia.

I can tell you that I was pretty impressed from the very beginning; Boy George is a fantastic front man and the band is so tight and on point that I was hooked for the rest of the 87 minute performance. Most of the ‘80s regalia is gone and what is left is a bunch of older, super-tight, super-talented musicians that are a blast to watch play. I never thought I would say this, but Culture Club’s unique mix of pop, reggae and soul is very enjoyable and really entertains.

This show was filmed as a homecoming for the band at the sold-out Wembley Arena and really opened my eyes to what great performers they are. Boy George has command of the crowd from the very beginning, with lots of back and forth banter, and tons of dancing and singing with the packed house having a great time.

I know the younger me would be mad if he heard me say this, but this is a really enjoyable DVD.

Live At Wembley Track Listing:

01. Church of the Poison Mind
02. It’s a Miracle
03. I’ll Tumble for Ya
04. Move Away
05. Everything I Own
06. Black Money
07. Time (Clock of the Heart)
08. Like I Used To
09. Different Man
10. Miss Me Blind
11. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me
12. Victims
13. The War Song
14. Karma Chameleon
15. Bang a Gong

Run Time: 87 minutes
Release Date: December 8, 2017

Check out the Live At Wembley video trailer.