Melbourne, Australia’s melodic death metal act, Hollow World have unleashed a scorching single fittingly titled “Wildfire” off their forthcoming new album Exanimate, which drops on March 17th, 2017. The release was produced by (including engineering, mixing and mastering) Ermin Hamidovic of Systematic Productions (Devin Townsend Project, Periphery, Betraying the Martyrs).

Exanimate has two story-lines: 1. a super-virus which wipes out the entire human race, 2. the human race is the virus that wipes out the world, rendering it uninhabitable.

Vocalist Ben Roberts commented: “While writing the lyrics for the album I was very conscious not to take an angst-ridden approach towards it – but to have more of a sense of focused anger. To have frustrations directed in a certain direction, and to develop a story where the audience could be easily receptive to it. I wanted to be precise with my aggression and I really feel I’ve captured that. In recent years I’ve been becoming increasingly angry at the culture of mass consumption we seem to have enveloped ourselves in, with no regard for the flow-on effect this might have – not just on the natural environment – but also on the way we live our lives and develop ideals. We have developed this idea that everything is disposable, everything can be replaced by something newer and better and it is showing in the way people interact with everything, from personal property to the way they treat other people. Exanimate is a volatile reaction to this.”

Exanimate Track Listing:

01. Agartha
02. Defiling Paradise
03. Patient Zero
04. Systematic Refinement
05. Wildfire
06. Infect, Replace, Disintegrate
07. Reverse Transcription
08. Pyres
09. Everything Rots
10. Desolation
11. Exanimate


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.