I find it incredibly hard to believe that it has been 15 years since American Hi-Fi released their self-titled debut. Man, times flies! I was on board with the band from the very beginning and have listened to their debut pretty regularly over the years; it is one of those records that has just sort of stayed with me. Needless to say, when the opportunity came to review the band’s new release, a reworked acoustic version of the original record, I was more than excited to check it out.

Thankfully, I was not disappointed. I think the guys have done a fantastic job of stripping these 13 songs down to their bare bones then rebuilding them with acoustic instruments and the occasional female vocal, the latter of which affords them a whole new dimension. Don’t get the wrong idea, though, the structure of the songs remains intact and you will find yourself immediately singing along to some old favorites. The cool thing is they are both different and fresh at the same time.

I may be biased because I am a fan, but I think this is a really good reworking of some already great tunes that fans of the band are sure to dig.

Track Listing:

01. Surround
02. Flavor of The Week
03. A Bigger Mood
04. Safer On The Outside
05. I’m a Fool
06. Hi Fi Killer
07. Blue Day
08. My Own Enemy
09. Don’t Wait For The Sun
10. Another Perfect Day
11. Scar
12. What About Today
13. Wall Of Sound

Run Time: 50:28
Release Date: April 29, 2016

Check out the song “Flavor of The Week”