The Skinny: The Montecristos are reinventing the shimmer and the throb, the tingle of illicit pleasure awakened by the sin-drenched echo of 1950’s guitars. The Montecristos are the midnight soundtrack for Jayne Mansfield; hips swaying like a storm at sea knocking at the Green Door of all your rock ‘n’ roll dreams.

At the helm is Neal X – former guitarist of million-selling, futuristic glam-rock potentates, Sigue Sigue Sputnik and long-term sideman of electro-burlesque starman Marc Almond (who appears on the album as special guest vocals on a cover of Brand New Cadillac).

Once renowned for the biggest quiff in London, Neal has always stayed true to the seamy essence of the originators: “I’m still totally head over leopard-print high heels in love with Rock ‘n’ Roll. I wanted to form a band that took the energy and spirit of Little Richard in ‘The Girl Can’t Help It’ and make it look and sound totally contemporary for the 21st Century. Glammy, trashy, classy and sexy Rock ‘n’ Roll – driven by my fist sized overactive adrenal gland.”

Born To Rock ‘n’ Roll Track Lisitng:

01. Atlantic Surf
02. Born To Rock N Roll
03. Hotel Pelirocco
04. Jayne Mansfield
05. Brand New Cadillac
06. Badfinger Twang
07. Good Lovin’
08. Love Missile F1-11
09. Dirty
10. A Little Bitty Bit Of Your Sweet Love
11. Pussywhipper
12. Dirty Little Lowlife
13. #selfie
14. I’m Going Home


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.