And Yellowcard is back with a new album, and new bassist! Considering their previous release, When You’re Through Thinking, Say Yes, came out last year, this new CD was a super-fast turnaround for the band. Having been on tour for nearly 200 days last year, passing through 30 countries and playing approximately 150 shows, the last thing a band wants to do is kick it into high gear and release a new record. Nevertheless it seems the writing and recording came pretty easily for Yellowcard, and when the creative juices are flowing, you roll with it!

The formula to a Yellowcard album is quite simple: a fast pace, friendly riffs and the violin, mixed in with some sincere lyrics. This is what they know, what they do well and what their fans love. It’s not everyday that you hear a band’s albums continually stay true to who they are, yet still also grow musically. “Here I Am Alive”, the album’s most predominant track, features Tay Jardine from We Are The In Crow and was co-written by Patrick Stump; you know… that guy from Fall Out Boy? That said, if you are a ballad type of person, then check out “Telescope” or even “Ten”.

The group is currently on the Vans Warped Tour and has already released a US tour schedule, so check ’em out live. I think it’s pretty cool that they’re offering VIP packages that gives you early entry to the show, a digital copy of Southern Air, signed poster and Yellowcard key chain. Not to mention a meet-and-greet with the band, and all fo only $85! Apparently We Are The In Crowd and The Wonder Years are set to be on the bill too…. y’all take the time to smell the “Southern Air”!

Track Listing:

01. Awakening
02. Surface Of The Sun
03. Always Summer
04. Here I Am Alive
05. Sleep In The Snow
06. A Vicious Kind
07. Telescope
08. Rivertown Blues
09. Ten
10. Southern Air

Run Time: 37:24
Release Date: August 14, 2012

Check out the song: “Southern Air” (Acoustic)