It’s always interesting when well-known musicians collaborate to create side projects and as such, it was cool to learn that drummer and guitarist Dirk Verbeuren (Soilwork, Scarve, Powermad, Phaze I, Anatomy Of I, Malevolence), vocalist Sven “Svencho” de Caluwé (Aborted, System Divide, ex. Leng Tch’e) and bassist Devin Townsend (Devin Townsend Project, ex. Strapping Young Lad) recently came together to form a new grind metal project dubbed Bent Sea.

The band released their digital debut EP, Noistalgia, on 11/11/11 and it consists of 12 short-as-hell songs which grind from the first note through to the last. The tracks clock from 0:22 to 4:06 in length making Noistalgia a chaotic release that will get your head spinning. The EP was produced by Devin Townsend himself (one of the greatest Canadians in the metal world), and If you listen closely, you’ll be able to hear influences from the trio’s other acts. I highly suggest metalheads and fans of any of these 3 musicians to check out Bent Sea.

Track Listing:

01. Noistalgia
02. Digital Disaster
03. Blast Beat Barrage
04. A Common Affliction
05. In One Word
06. Grind Control
07. Tripwire Target
08. Sustained Idiocy
09. Dead Meat
10. Truth Will Out
11. Fool For Life
12. Bullshit Propaganda

Run Time: 19:47
Release Date: November, 11, 2011

Check out the song: “Noistalgia”