July 16th, 2011 “Weird Al” Yankovic’s “The Alpocalypse Tour” stopped at Massey Hall in Toronto, ON for two filmed shows. With the footage captured a DVD was produced entitled “Weird Al” Yankovic Live! – The Alpocalypse Tour and released only a few months later.

As a concert lover I have been to Massey Hall to see the likes of Dream Theater, Trivium and even “Weird Al” Yankovic back in 2007. Sadly I missed the 2011 show, but lucky for me, it was captured on film. The live performance consists of 17 songs taken from “Weird Al” Yankovic’s catalogue. He and the band performed tracks such as “Smells Like Nirvana”, “Let Me Be Your Hog”, “Fat”, “Yoda”, “Canadian Idiot” (for us idiotic Canadians) and other greats. Even at the age of 51 the man can belt out some incredible vocals hitting his notes. It’s awesome hearing such talent musically but, the “Weird Al” gang have also mastered the visuals. For every song the band changes into a different costume giving us a chance to see Al dressed as Kurt Cobain, a fat man, an Amish and even a peacock?

After all the great concert footage you get some bonus material including more live performance videos, music videos, YouTube clips and some funny filming he did for television. “Weird Al” Yankovic Live! – The Alpocalypse Tour is a definite must-have for all “Weird Al” fans. I hope more DVDs get filmed in Toronto in the near future.

Track Listing:

01. Polka Face
02. TMZ
03. Smells Like Nirvana
04. Skipper Dan
05. CNR
06. Let Me Be Your Hog
07. Canadian Idiot
08. Wanna B Ur Lover
09. Medley
10. Amish Paradise
11. Craigslist
12. Perform This Way
13. White & Nerdy
14. Fat
15. The Saga Begins
16. Yoda

Run Time: 86 minutes
Release Date: October 4, 2011

Check out the song: “Canadian Idiot”