Red White and Blood is the debut offering from Generation Kill, a metal outfit that includes metal heavyweights such as Exodus front man Rob Dukes, M.O.D. bassist Rob Moschetti and Mortician drummer Sam Inzerra. As one would expect, the majority of the tunes on this record dish a heavy skull-bashing; especially songs such as “Hate”, “Let Me Die” and the title track “Red White and Blood”.

What I was not prepared for though were the slowed-down, clean vocal, melodic tunes like “Dark Days” and “Self-Medicating”. These are not bad songs by any means, I just don’t think I’ve heard Duke actually sing – and while it was surprising, it was also pretty decent. I think the inclusion of the cover of Nine Inch Nails’ song “Wish” was an odd choice; it’s a bit more aggressive and rawer than the original, but overall it seems to work pretty well.

Red White and Blood is a good record and while not every tune is totally balls out metal, there are enough of them on here to satisfy most diehard metal fans.

Track Listing:

01. Hate
02. Red White And Blood
03. Feast for The Wolves
04. Self-Medicating
05. Depraved Indifference
06. Slow Burn
07. Section 8
08. Walking Dead
09. Dark Days
10. Let Me Die
11. Wish (bonus Nine Inch Nails cover)

Run Time: 51:58
Release Date: September 27, 2011

Check out the song: “Red White and Blood”