Delain began as a two member project (Charlotte Wessels and Martijn Westerholt) and after a successful first album, Lucidity, which featured many guests (Liv Kristine, Sharon Den Adel, Jan Yrlund, etc.) the duo decided to take Delain to the next level, a full touring band. Following this decision Delain recruited three official members and recorded their debut album April Rain.

As Delain evolved so did their music; focusing around the five musicians each of whom take the music into their own hands, rather than relying on guests. Charlotte Wessels takes the biggest hit as she assumes the lead with her astounding vocals. Backed by her crew’s heavy, but melodic supporting instrumentals, she soars from note to note.

April Rain is unlike other symphonic metal albums as it displays more rock-style vocals causing the band to sound more aggressive. This technique is a niche of Delain’s that I hope they never lose; it defines them from all other bands in the genre.

Track Listing:

01. April Rain
02. Stay Forever
03. Invidia
04. Control The Storm
05. On The Other Side
06. Virtue And Vice
07. Go Away
08. Start Swimming
09. Lost
10. I’ll Reach You
11. Nothing Left
12. Come Closer (Bonus Track)

Run Time: 50:15
Release Date: March 20, 2009

Check out the song: “April Rain”