Gospel is the sophomore release from the Detroit based indie/punk band Fireworks. A few years ago I stumbled upon their debut, All I Have To Offer Is My Own Confusion and I find myself listening to it quite frequently. I can easily see the same thing happening with this new disc, Gospel.

This is a good, solid CD that comes at a perfect time of the year for me; as I think it’s perfectly suited for cranking while cruising down the highway with the windows rolled down. I realize that Fireworks have not reinvented the wheel here and that there are many bands that play this same type of music, but I think Fireworks do it just a bit better. This is a good record and one that will definitely see more plays in my future.

Track Listing:

01. Arrows
02. I Was Born In The Dark
03. Xs On Trees
04. Were Still Pioneers
05. Teeth
06. Oh, Why Can’t We Start Older And Get Younger
07. Summer
08. Life Is Killing Me
09. I Am The Challenger
10. Paintings Of Paul Revere
11. I Locked My Time Capsule
12. The Wild Bunch

Run Time: ??:??
Release Date: 05.24.2011

Check out the song: “Arrows”