Rock Icons Cheap Trick have been entertaining audiences for over three decades with their unique blend of hard rock and pop tunes. In 1978 the band played a now famous show at the Budokan in Japan that eventually went on to become not only the defining moment in the band’s career, but also one of the biggest selling live records of all time. Now, thirty years later they have re-released that classic concert on DVD and packaged it with three audio discs as well.

Included in the box set is a large poster and a very well done info booklet complete with tons of band photos and tidbits of information about the history of the band and the logistics behind this historic concert.

All the hits one would expect are on here including the one that made them a household name back in the 70’s, “I Want You To Want Me.” This song dominated the airwaves back in the 70’s and early 80’s and has become a mainstay on Classic Rock stations ever since.

The DVD portion of the disc is excellent; the quality is great and having been a fan of the band for years, but not having actually seen them live, I enjoyed seeing them play. The chemistry these guys have with their audience and themselves is palpable and surely is a testament to their longevity in the here today gone tomorrow world of the music business. There are also some interviews and bonus features that provide almost ninety minutes of viewing pleasure.

The audio discs that accompany the DVD are fabulous. I was one of the ones who actually owned this on vinyl and it is great to actually now have a digital version it as well.

Listening to this disc was like settling into a favorite old book. It is familiar and yet after all these years it is still vibrant, fresh and relevant as well. For fans of Cheap Trick, BUDOKAN! is the collection you have been waiting for and for those not familiar with Cheap Trick it is a great opportunity to learn a great deal about this classic rock band.

Track Listing (Disc 1 – DVD):

01. Hello There
02. Elo Kitty
03. Speak Now (Or Forever Hold Your Peace)
04. Lookout
05. Downed
06. Can’t Hold On
07. Oh Caroline
08. Surrender
09. Auf Wiedereshen
10. Southern Girls
11. I Want You To Want Me
12. California Man
13. Goodnight
14. Ain’t That A Shame
15. Clock Strikes Ten

Run Time: 85:00

Track Listing (Disc 2 – CD):

01. Hello There
02. Come On Come On
03. Elo Kitty
04. Speak Now (Or Forever Hold Your Peace)
05. Big Eyes
06. Look Out
07. Downed
08. Can’t Hold On
09. Oh Caroline
10. Surrender
11. Auf Wiedereshen
12. Need Your Love
13. High Roller
14. Southern Girls
15. I Want You To Want Me
16. California Man
17. Goodnight
18. Ain’t That A Shame
19. Clock Strikes Ten

Run Time: 79:46

Track Listing (Disc 3 – CD):

01. Come On Come On
02. Elo Kitty
03. Speak Now (Or Forever Hold Your Peace)
04. Big Eyes
05. Look Out
06. Downed
07. Can’t Hold On
08. Oh Caroline
09. Surrender
10. Auf Wiedereshen

Run Time: 45:21

Track Listing (Disc 4 – CD):

01. Need Your Love
02. High Roller
03. Southern Girls
04. I want You To Want Me
05. California Man
06. Goodnight
07. Ain’t That A Shame
08. Clock Strikes Ten

Run Time: 36:42
Release Date: November 11, 2008

Check out the song: “Surrender”