One of the things I like the most about reviewing CDs for magazines is that I get to hear a ton of bands and discs I would never I have heard of, let alone purchased. Granted there is a lot of weeding through tons of stuff that is mediocre at best. The payoff, when it comes is all the more sweeter and the grin on my face even bigger. All of that to say that I was smiling and pleasantly surprised when I first heard Rumpelstiltskin Grinder’s new release Living for Death, Destroying the Rest. I have never heard of these guys and had no idea what to expect when I saw the name, but damn is this a good CD.

This is a powerful debut album that makes a very bold statement. Living for Death, Destroying the Rest combines elements of hardcore, thrash, and grind into an all out blistering yet extremely technical assault. The drummer is fierce behind the kit pounding away with unrelenting passion while the guitar shredding and riffage is quite remarkable.

Rumpelstiltskin Grinder comes out of the box swinging with the opening track, “Nothing Defeats The Skull” and they do not let up until the very last track, “Revolution Of Underground Legions.” Packaged between these two songs are eight other damn good tunes that are not only fast and heavy but they also include a lethal dose of grooves as well. This disc is guaranteed to get and keep your neck snapping for the duration (just over 43 minutes).

At the end of the day, I feel this is a very good record from a band we will here more from in the very near future. Check this one out you will not be disappointed.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Nothing Defeats The Skull
02. Graveyard Vandalization
03. Brainwasher C. 1655
04. Friends In The Mountain, Ghouls
05. Spyborg
06. Traitors Blood
07. Beware The Thrash Brigade
08. Sewers Of Doom (Dethroning The Ty)
09. Darkness Is Never Ending
10. Revolution Of Underground Legions

Run Time: 43:40
Release Date: 01.20.2009