It may seem like it took forever, but the maniacal Metal madmen of Slipknot are FINALLY back with a HOT, fourth studio album titled, All Hope Is Gone. Don’t get mislead but the album’s title, it does not in any way pertain to the band’s musical direction… rather it relates to the album’s main subject matter: our hopeless planet. This topic aside however, the music is amazing and without a doubt, the band has done it again.

This record reverts back to old Slipknot, which is exactly what I was hoping for! The Subliminal Verses was a great album, but honestly nothing compared to the band’s prior releases. Fortunately for all SK fans, this new disc brings back the older Slipknot many of us seem to prefer and even worship.

Carrying over numerous elements from previous efforts, this CD does also boast new sounds and changes that this band has not as of yet offered. Despite being “old-school” the band still does progress with this album; seemingly having over the past record or two learned how to properly evolve their music. The mega-hot single “Psychosocial” is very impressive and is a good example of the new/old Slipknot. This tunes’ bridge was a breakdown, and although not rare, Slipknot did this with perfection!

Track ten is “Wherein Lies Continue” and I absolutely love it with a passion. The entire song feels just like original Slipknot. Even the words chosen throughout the lyrical content revert back to the original styles Corey used to pen. Lines such as “Thou shalt not kill your fathers/Question everything we clung to for years/Live forever – Design a better death” are prime examples. And although he does still sing more than before, Corey’s vocals even resemble those used in older albums: the screams are reminiscent of those found on Iowa.

Despite my preference to older Slipknot, I was not disappointed with this album whatsoever. If you like any Slipknot, new or old, give this one a listen. I’m sure you’ll find yourself agreeing with many of the aforementioned points.

Track Listing:

01. .execute.
02. Gematria (The Killing Name)
03. Sulfur
04. Psychosocial
05. Dead Memories
06. Vendetta
07. Butcher’s Hook
08. Gehenna
09. This Cold Black
10. Wherein Lies Continue
11. Snuff
12. All Hope Is Gone

Run Time: 57:44
Release Date: August 26, 2008