Cradle of Filth is a band that has been around for a long, long time. 15 years actually! And every time I see a new Cradle of Filth album in stores, I usually jump on it immediately. Thornography, being the newest one, I didn’t expect a whole lot, thinking that maybe they changed too much for this album, but man was I wrong. Now don’t get me wrong at all, Nymphetamine was still an amazing album, but this one kicks the shit out of it by far.

A lot of readers probably already know who plays in this god-like Black Metal band, but for those who are new to CoF, here’s the line-up. The demons themselves are; Dani Filth (Vocals), Paul Allender (Guitar), Charles Hedger (Guitar), Dave Pybus (Bass), and Adrian Elands son (Drums).

Onto the album… track one, “Under Pregnant Skies She Comes Alive Like Miss Leviathan,” is only an introduction for the album, leading into “Dirge Inferno.” This track is amazing! Cradle of Filth is touching back to their metal roots, unleashing mayhem like never before. I love the instrumental. The brutal “screams of Filth” makes the track even better.

Sixth on the album, and one of the best sons on the disc, I might add, is “I Am The Thorn.” The guitar riff is amazingly heavy; definitely a head-bang worthy song. Not a single fault to the track in any way. The bridge was by far my favourite part of the track and the music seems to get louder, darker, and heavier as they enter the bridge.

Tenth up on Thornography is “Rise Of The Pentagram.” The intro is only a poem read out loud; the words are eerie and put a shadow of sorrow over top of the track. I knew right from the beginning, the song was going to be dark. The entire track is only an instrumental, but definitely a great track none-the-less. I’d kill to hear this song played live.

Overall, the album was FUCKING INSANE! I loved every minute of it and I can’t wait till the next time these guys hit Toronto. 10/10!!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Under Pregnant Skies She Comes Alive like Miss Leviathan
02. Dirge Inferno
03. Tonight in Flames
04. Libertina Grimm
05. The Byronic Man
06. I Am The Thorn
07. Cemetery And Sundown
08. Lovesick for Mina
09. The Foetus of a New Day Kicking
10. Rise of the Pentagram
11. Under the Huntress Moon
12. Temptation

Run Time: 60:02