Connect with us

Album News

Ryan Egan Teases ‘Soft Power’ LP with New Single “We Do It On Purpose”

Ryan Egan shares “We Do It On Purpose,” the new single from his now-confirmed debut full-length album, ‘Soft Power.’



American singer/songwriter Ryan Egan has confirmed his debut full-length album, Soft Power, will drop on April 8th. Accompanying the announcement, the Paris, France-based artist unveiled his single, “We Do It On Purpose,” the third sample of his Kevin Basko-produced album (Foxygen, The Lemon Twigs).

Egan comments on the new song’s inspiration, stating:

“I was thinking back on my formative years as a kid growing up in suburban New Jersey, an experience so far from my adult life living between New York City and Paris, and for the first time appreciating a place that I’ve spent the last decade escaping. “I’ve been so laser focused on the future, that I became nostalgia-phobic. I still am somewhat. But throughout writing this album and then deciding to go home to produce it around the tri-state area (Philly, NYC, New Jersey) after months of being stuck in France during Covid lockdowns, I was homesick and feeling rather romantic about where I come from.”

Soft Power Track Listing:

1. Loner
2. Soft Power
3. Full-Time
4. Alone For the Last Time
5. Weeknights
6. Cut Corners
7. Don’t Say You Never Loved Me
8. Baby, Hold On
9. We Do It On Purpose

Artwork for the single “We Do It On Purpose” by Ryan Egan

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.