Well good god damn I’m feeling good and feeling alive and y’all should too! The name Steve Lukather may leave you scratchin’ your noggin, beach bop floppin’ hearing churchbells ringing, on and on desperate to toe tap, but when you hear a song like “Rossana” or “Africa,” that’s when you’ll drop into point break and it all makes sense, doobie sparking, “yeah, I know this cat.”

Steve Lukather, a guitarist’s guitar player that smokes T-bones off the back of a Marshall amp while meat tenderizing the greatest hooks that any carnivore can consume, slaps his latest release I Found The Sun Again on the chopping block of mind blending melody. Lukather seasons everything with the title track, emotionally stating the end of a crappy relationship but there’s more flavour to endure into another summer of love and adventure. Luke is no stranger to danger and weathers each of his new songs as if freefalling into his next excursion.

“Serpent Soul” kills it with its Govt Mule meets Anders Osbourn at the Cajun house five-card stud shakedown and continues into some Head East towards Chicago get down. “Welcome To The Club” with its Joe Walsh/Eddie Money– like vocal exchange, Luke slips and slides like Walsh before tripping over the “Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys,” a great tribute that can only be trumped (is it safe to say that yet?) by the latter-day saint dedication to Robin Trower’s “Bridge Of Sighs.”

In all fairness, I’m skipping over some of the Angus and Pommes Frites of this guitarist’s grimoire of rock, jazz, blues, and contemporary music that Luke’s known for. The guys played with Paul McCartney, Joe Cocker, Eric Clapton, Miles Davis, and warmed up the fretboard for Eddie Van Halen on Michael Jackson’s “Beat It.”

If you listen deeply to I Found The Sun Again, you’ll discover a new song each day (with a replay that rekindles lively days and lovely nights) that will find you tapping your toes and feeling alright.

I Found The Sun Again Track Listing:

1. Along for the Ride
2. Serpent Soul
3. The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys
4. Journey Through
5. Welcome to the Club
6. I Found the Sun Again
7. Run to Me (Feat. Ringo Starr, Joseph Williams)
8. Bridge of Sighs

Run Time: 48:18
Release Date: February 26, 2021
Record Label: Players Club


I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".