Connect with us

Album Review

Black Stone Cherry – ‘The Human Condition’ [Album Review]

Kentucky rockers Black Stone Cherry dish up a roof-raising collection of tunes on new album ‘The Human Condition’. Read our review here.



Obviously, it’s great that Kentucky rockers Black Stone Cherry have dropped this killer new album but, in these times of no gigs, all listening to it will do is make you want to be shoe-horned into some sweaty club even more than you do already. You see, if you’ve spent any time in the company of the rock quartet, you know very well how they write songs that shake the walls and raise the roof of whatever town or city they’re in and The Human Condition is no exception.

Kicking off with the fist-pumping “Ringin’ In My Head,” The Human Condition is an absolute joy to listen to. “Again” has a hair-shakin’ swagger wrapped around wailing guitar solos and John Fred Young’s pounding beats. And it just keeps gets better. Cranking the energy levels up, the band pummel through the latter section of the fantastic “Push Down & Turn” while “When Angels Learn To Fly” is one of those big power rock ballads that makes even the most soulless arena feel like you’re watching the group in your own lounge.

However, as we all know, it’s big rock bangers that are Black Stone Cherry’s bread and butter and The Human Condition is full of them. “Live This Way” and “The Chain” are great but they’re just a taster for “Don’t Bring Me Down.” Bluesy, modern rock meets ‘80s hard rock for four minutes that are so pumped it fucking hurts. Chris Robertson owns the floor as his raspy vocals compliment the gasoline-fueled rock perfectly and his display on “Don’t Bring Me Down” takes you right back to those days when massive, anthemic hard rock was the musical powerhouse that packed out arenas and topped the charts.

While it’s going to be another twelve months before we’re likely to share an evening with Chris, John Fred and Co, The Human Condition will definitely help those evenings fly by. In these scary times, rock music needs a band like Black Stone Cherry and an album like The Human Condition more than ever. Here’s to twelve months of learning every word of these songs as we count down the days until we’re back with our mates enjoying these cuts as they should be enjoyed: Loud, rowdy and ringin’ in our heads!

The Human Condition Track Listing:

1. Ringin’ In My Head
2. Again
3. Push Down & Turn
4. When Angels Learn To Fly
5. Live This Way
6. In Love With The Pain
7. The Chain
8. Ride
9. If My Heart Had Wings
10. Don’t Bring Me Down
11. Some Stories
12. Devil In Your Eyes
13. Keep On Keepin’ On

Run Time: 46:41
Release Date: October 30, 2020
Record Label: Mascot Records

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.