Connect with us


LAMB OF GOD Streaming New Single “Checkmate” and Confirm New Album Details

Virginia metal titans Lamb of God have returned with their first new music in five years in the form of “Checkmate.” Wrap your ears around the track here and get all the info on their eagerly-awaited new album due later this Spring.



Lamb Of God have revealed a brand new single and video called “Checkmate.” This is the band’s first new music in five years as well as the first to feature new drummer Art Cruz. The single is lifted from a newly-announced self-titled album, Lamb Of God, which is due out on May 8th via Nuclear Blast.

Guitarist Mark Morton says of the new track, “‘Checkmate’ brings together all the components of the Lamb of God sound that we’ve been developing over the last two decades, but with the ambition and ferocity that comes with the start of a new chapter for our band. Re-energised and reignited, this is Lamb Of God 2020. We’ve never been more excited.”

In the midst of writing the 10 songs that appear on Lamb Of God, the group hit pause on the works-in-progress to man the stage as special guests for Slayer’ “The Final Campaign” tour. After months of playing their best-known songs nightly, Lamb Of God returned to the new tracks and began to work with longtime producer Josh Wilbur (Korn, Megadeth, Gojira, Trivium). Special guests Jamey Jasta (Hatebreed) and Chuck Billy (Testament) also make appearances on Lamb Of God.

Pre-orders for Lamb Of God are available here and fans can snap up vinyl in black, limited edition yellow, or limited edition red with box-set pre-orders to come.

Lamb Of God Track Listing:

01. Memento Mori
02. Checkmate
03. Gears
04. Reality Bath
05. New Colossal Hate
06. Resurrection Man
07. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
08. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
09. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

Lamb of God return to the UK for a headline tour in April 2020. Joining them as special guests will be labelmates, German thrash classics Kreator, with Texan thrash squad Power Trip opening proceedings each night. The ‘State Of Unrest’ dates mark the first chance for fans to attend a Lamb Of God headline tour of the UK since January 2014 and are dates not to be missed.

Tour Dates (w/Kreator, Power Trip:

04/21 – BRISTOL – O2 Academy
04/22 – MANCHESTER – Academy
04/23 – GLASGOW – O2 Academy
04/24 – BIRMINGHAM – O2 Academy
04/25 – LONDON – O2 Academy Brixton

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.