Connect with us

Album Review

Selena Gomez – “Rare” [Album Review]

Selena Gomez continues to shine boldly and brightly with her newest album, Rare, out January 10th on Interscope Records.



I’m writing some kinda weird fan fiction about this Disney kid who’s had her fair share of ups and downs, and, perhaps problematic to some, she’s quite the individual with good intentions when it comes to being in love. There’s no reason someone wouldn’t want to feel “Rare” around Selena Gomez, especially after her relationship with discord and willing intent, but, as we move forward, the most important part of growth is mental healing. “Confidence is throwing your heart through a brick wall” and it feels so good to dance again through the eye of the kaleidoscope.

Her new album, Rare, almost plays itself out in chronological order of a self-destructive relationship. “She dodged a bullet and took a few years to soak up her tears, look at her now, watch her go.” With its zip line over Niagara falls EDM it’s hard to fall out of love with a woman with so much heart in her love.

“Lose You To Love Me” is the first single off Rare and again it sings about love lost, but I believe when you listen to Ms. Gomez’s records you’re going to be prepared for songs about love lost. That’s her catharsis… but, wait a minute, “If I showed you all my demons, and we dive into the deep end, would we crash and burn every time we fall?” This is the kinda shit you want written on a cocktail napkin and left on the refrigerator the morning after a squabble. It’s what makes us all stay vulnerable, and stay in love.

Sometimes we all need to “Lose You To Love Me.“

There’s a body reflex of “Crowded Room” that sings, “baby it’s just me and you, even in a crowded room.” I’m not sure if I want to call room service or check out, so, as The Clash say, “Should I stay or should I go?” It ain’t about hitting it and quitting it in this montage of deep breath exchanges, but when Selena sings “Fun,” she’s talking about what all girls go through in their fuck boy stage. Listen, Selena, believe it or not, some of us gents see eye to eye with you ladies and I’m onto you.

In denouement (ooh la, la), I think Selena grew up too fast and tried to run before she could walk, similar to a lot of her other Disney alumnus that burnt the candle at both ends. Her flame just happened to be a little bit brighter. As “rare” as it may be, I truly believe she has the heart and the spirit to continue to both mature and excel in that white-hot spotlight, red carpet extravaganza.

Rare Track Listing:

01. Rare
02. Dance Again
03. Look At Her Now
04. Lose You To Love Me
05. Ring
06. Vulnerable
07. People You Know
08. Let Me Get Me
09. Kinda Crazy
10. Fun
11. Cut You Off
12. A Sweeter Place

Run Time: 41:53
Release Date: January 10, 2020
Record Label: Interscope Records

Gomez truly is a “Rare” talent.

I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".