Connect with us


Moon Bounce is Back and Armed with a Sharp New “Hook” [Song Premiere]



Moon Bounce by Bethany Vargas

Moon Bounce by Bethany Vargas

Electronic fans rejoice! Los Angeles, CA-based producer, songwriter and vocalist, Moon Bounce is back! Today, armed with his first original music since signing with Domino Music Publishing last year, Moon Bounce, aka Corey Regensburg, unleashes more of his signature “Mutant Pop” via the new track “Hook.” Lifted from the upcoming album Skip Intro, which is due out on February 21st, 2020, via Grind Select/Fat Possum, the new cut sees this artist barely missing a beat.

Commenting on the new tune, Regensburg said, “‘Hook’ emerged from a blossoming romance between my wife (rapper Push Push) and I. What started as a casual flirtation (she was visiting from South Africa, I had just moved to LA to live with Tommy Lee) quickly became full-blown infatuation.”

Moon Bounce’s forthcoming Skip Intro full-length follows just about three years of silence as the artist was tending to his battles with anxiety disorder. As a result, the new music is infused with both difficult topics and, as a recent press release notes, “panic-ridden ruminations.” Sure, things are new and improved, but Moon Bounce’s signature sound remains present and will go a long way to draw in new fans while retaining old ones.

For the uninitiated, or those simlpy desring a refresher, Moon Bounce bleends elements of dance music, R&B, metal, and more into his own crazy, groove-heavy concotion that’s static as it is dynamic, as mellow as it is jarring, and as lighthearted as it is serious. Moon Bounce first started to make waves with some EPs including the Dress Rehearsal (2014), the first release from his own Grind Select label. Things only cotntinued to grow from them and, among many other wins, he released a slew of singles on Ryan Hemsworth’s Secret Songs imprint, London’s Activia Benz, and even Steve Aoki’s Dim Mak.

The activity led to 2017’s debut full-length Clean House, tour dates with Rhye, Flamingosis and Shlohmo, and a fast-growing fan base. Now, after some time away tending to his own well-being, and signing with Domino Publishing, the world’s about to get a next level, Moon Bounce. Check out more music via SoundCloud, Bandcamp, and YouTube.

Skip Intro Track Listing:

01. Malm
02. Better Now
03. Time & Place
04. Hook
05. Friends In High Places
06. Marbles
07. Hundred Million Ways
08. Peel
09. What It Will Be Like
10. Parties

Artwork for “Hook” by Moon Bounce

Artwork for “Hook” by Moon Bounce

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.