Ritual is the eleventh studio record from Soulfly, led by the iconic Max Cavalera. “Ritual”, the disc opener, begins with a chaotic, hypnotic drum/guitar intro that quickly slips into a groove that carries on throughout the record. There are really no surprises here, Ritual is, at least to me, a solid, grooving Soulfly record that incorporates everything I have come to expect from the band. Cavalera’s signature choppy vocals are front and center, and layered over the top of some dirty, catchy guitar riffs that really compel your body to move.

Ritual flows smoothly from top to bottom with absolutely no filler, and benefits greatly from guest vocal appearances by Randy Blythe of Lamb of God on “Dead Behind the Eyes” and Ross Dolan of Immolation on “Under Rapture”. “Feedback”, a tune that shows up towards the end of the disc, is definitely worth a mention as well; it’s a thrashy speed metal effort that rips along and reminds me a whole hell of a lot of Motörhead.

Lastly, the album finishes with a terrific flamenco tinged instrumental that closes out the disc perfectly, bringing calm to the chaos before releasing its hold on the listener. Take note: Ritual is a solid rager that is sure to please fans of the band and metal heads everywhere.

Check out the title track. Or don’t. Your loss. Loser.

Ritual Track Listing:

01. Ritual
02. Dead Behind the Eyes (featuring Randy Blythe)
03. The Summoning
04. Evil Empowered
05. Under Rapture (featuring Ross Dolan)
06. Demonized
07. Blood on the Street
08. Bite the Bullet
09. Feedback!
10. Soulfly XI (instrumental)

Run Time: 43:17
Release Date: October 19, 2018
Record Label: Nuclear Blast