Founded in 2017 by guitarist/singer Jeremy Perkins (Eohum), Montreal trio Wykan are set to release their debut EP Solace on April 13th. From it, you can hear the band’s debut single,”Lahppon Olmmos” (Noaide’s Ride To Saivo)” below.

Wykan delivers a heavy mix of black metal with old stoner and psychedelic rock and blues, certainly an interesting combination. The EP features three punishing tracks full of atmosphere and mystery where you can hear all of these influences at work. The theme of the EP follows inspiration of ethnobotany and magic, as well as a tribal take on ritual and ceremony. Overall, the concept is a reminder of the harsh realities of our daily lives in relation to the spiritual world.

“After releasing very heavy black metal for 3+ yrs with my band Eohum, I wanted to return to blues and doom oriented music and expression, with atmosphere, blues solos and more feeling. Both Morgan Zwicker (drums) and Daniel Paras (bass) are distinct musicians/vocalists with jazz/blues backgrounds whom had the will to jump on board.” comments band founder Jeremy Perkins. The songs also feature contributions from special guests Matt McGachy (Cryptopsy) and Barrie Butler (Eohum).