Formed in the early 1990s in Chicago, Veruca Salt made a big impact with its first single, 1994’s “Seether.” American Thighs, which featured “Seether” and “All Hail Me,” went gold in the United States. Nina Gordon, Louise Post, Jim Shapiro, and Steve Lack quickly went back into the studio, releasing 1996’s Blow It Out Your Ass It’s Veruca Salt EP and 1997’s full-length Eight Arms To You.

As American Thighs was recorded for the Minty Fresh record label, Eight Arms To Hold You was a big step up for the quartet. Besides being released by Geffen Records, Eight Arms featured the production of Bob Rock, who helmed major albums by the likes of Metallica, Motley Crue, and Bon Jovi. The success of first single “Volcano Girls” led to a high-profile slot on the Bush arena tour, an appearance on Saturday Night Live, and chart success around North America, Europe and Australia. Follow-up singles “Shutterbug,” “Benjamin” and “Straight” also fared well internationally with radio play. However, this was the last music recorded by the original lineup of Veruca Salt until 2015’s reunion album Ghost Notes.

Long out of print on vinyl, Eight Arms To Hold You has gotten an LP re-release via Universal Music Enterprises. Available in two new vinyl LP editions, the album’s 120-gram black vinyl reissue was released on January 26th, while a limited-edition, 180-gram gold colored LP was exclusive available via Sound Of Vinyl earlier this month. Both new vinyl editions include a bonus track, “Good Disaster,” which was originally released on the 1997 CD single for “Volcano Girls.” Also, both editions were mastered and cut by Ian Sefchick at Capitol Mastering.

So in short, you have a cool re-issue of one of the more fun radio-friendly rock bands of the 1990s, sounding better than ever, and looking great. If you are a fan of Veruca Salt’s hooks and fuzz-heavy guitars, this is a must-have. And if you are and/or were not a fan of Veruca Salt, well, that’s a bummer.

Nina Gordon & Louise Post talk Eight Arms To Hold You:

Eight Arms To Hold You Track Listing:
01. Straight
02. Volcano Girls
03. Don’t Make Me Prove It
04. Awesome
05. One Last Time
06. With David Bowie
07. Benjamin
08. Shutterbug

09. The Morning Sad
10. Sound Of The Bell
11. Loneliness Is Worse
12. Stoneface
13. Venus Man Trap
14. Earthcrosser
15. Good Disaster (bonus track)

Run Time: 51 minutes
Release Date: February 2, 2018

Check out “Volcano Girls” by Veruca Salt: