Fairmont, West Virginia-based progressive metal band Cognition are gearing up to independently release their sophomore full-length album Procession of Thoughts (pre-order here) on November 11th, 2016 and as today we’re thrilled to premiere the entire recording!

Procession of Thoughts is the follow-up to Cognition’s self-titled debut which released in 2014 and helped to garner the band a solid local following. Featuring members Calvin Wilson (vocals), Evan Michael (drums), Joey Welsh (bass), Jared Gaminde (guitar), and Tyler Vincent (guitar), the group worked with producer Jeff Westlake of Ridgeline Production Studios (Hydrogyn, Tracy G and Craig Goldy of Dio fame, The Godz) to both engineer and mix the new album.

Said drummer Evan Michael about Procession of Thoughts, “This album tested our limits. We broke out of our comfort zone and expanded upon the original sound of Cognition. It was a path of resistance at times but I think it was for the best.”

Procession of Thoughts Track Listing:

01. Her Fire
02. Reconnect
03. Last Call
04. Shifting Perceptions
05. Throne of the Crow
06. Desolation
07. Freakshow
08. Limitless
09. Eyes Wide Shut


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.