Connect with us


GONJASUFI Unveils First Song “Maniac Depressant” from Newly-Announced Album ‘Callus’

Gonjasufi returns with his latest album Callus this August and you can now hear the first single “Maniac Depressant” here.



Gonjasufi returns with his latest album Callus this August and you can now hear the raw emotion emanating from the first word Gonjasufi speaks on “Maniac Depressant” – stream the song above.

Written and recorded over the span of 4 years, split between Las Vegas and Gonjasufi’s home in the California desert, Callus is undeniably the musician’s most soul-baring and cathartic collection. It is about embracing hurt and anger to create something… “That’s the callus. How can you not be in pain? It ain’t about getting past that shit. It’s about growing into it.”

Produced by Gonjasufi, Callus also features former The Cure guitarist Pearl Thompson on several tracks. “I peeled through all these layers to get to the core,” Sufi explains. “I channeled all the misunderstanding and misery and torment-that’s what it is, torment-into this.”

Callus Track Listing:

01. Your Maker
02. Maniac Depressant
03. Afrikan Spaceship
04. Carolyn Shadows
05. Ole Man Sufferah
06. Greasemonkey
07. The Kill
08. Prints Of Sin
09. Krishna Punk
10. Elephant Man
11. The Conspiracy
12. Poltergeist
13. Vinaigrette
14. Devils
15. Surfinfinity
16. When I Die
17. The Jinx
18. Shakin Parasites
19. Last Nightmare

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.