Listening to Bitter Moments, the debut release by Devonshire-based metallers Seconds Alive, it’s hard to see how they’re going to make a dent in a hardcore scene in the UK with their first release. With a sound inspired by the usual suspects from US punk/hardcore heavyweights like Rise Against to UK bruisers Architects, Bitter Moments is a solid but sadly predictable set of songs and that is it’s biggest downfall.

You see, while there is no doubting the emotion that frontman Robbie Doran pours into his words, it’s done to a soundtrack of metallic hardcore lifted straight from the textbook. Clearly a very personal record judging by “Where Are You Going With This” where Doran screams “I was just another notch on your bedpost..”, his abrasive, heartfelt vocals are one of the bright lights in a record which, is full of angst and feeling but, ultimately, doesn’t have anything that makes it stand out.

At the end of day, while there is nothing wrong with this collection of jagged riffs, modern hardcore breakdowns and passionate, emotional vocals, Seconds Alive are one band amongst a million other bands peddling this sort of thing and sadly, there is little on Bitter Moments which will make them stand out.

Track Listing:

01. Red Blood
02. Where Are You Going With This
03. Drawing The Line
04. Upon Yourself
05. Speechless
06. Jenna

Running Time: 20:25
Release Date: 30th October 2015

Check out the video for ‘Upon Yourself’ here.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.