Xeno, the latest release from Japanese metalers Crossfaith, sits somewhere at the intersection of metal and EDM. As you might surmise, this blending of genres creates a high-energy, intense, and dynamic disc that’s packed to the gills with driving, rhythmic grooves and techno-inspired electronic beats that successfully make you want to simultaneously bang your head and rave.

Crossfaith know how to rage and it is more than evident on tracks like “Raise Your Voice” and “Devil’s Party” which are all-out, balls-to-the-wall, rip-your-face-off kind of tunes that will appeal to those with a penchant for the heavier side of the metal spectrum. I think that Crossfaith’s strength, however, is in the heavily EDM-influenced tunes like “Wildfire” (feat. Skindred’s Benji Webbe) and “Madness” – it is here that I feel they create something fresh, innovative, and incredibly fun to listen to.

All things considered I think Xeno, is not only definitely worth picking up, but, with its heaviness and diversity, will also appeal to a wide range of music fans.

Track Listing:

01. System X
02. Xeno
03. Raise Your Voice
04. Devils Party
05. Ghost In The Mirror (feat. Caleb Shomo)
06. Dystopia
07. Wildfire (feat. Benji Webbe from Skindred)
08. Tears Fall
09. Paint It Black
10. Vanguard
11. Calm The Storm
12. Astral Heaven
13. Madness
14. Dance With The Enemies
15. S.O.S.

Run Time: 56:09
Release Date: September 18, 2015

Check out the song “Devil’s Party” here.