Swedish melodic death metalers, Soilwork, celebrate 9 epic studio albums by bringing their amazing sound to, as the title of the album states, the heart of Helsinki. Now, I must come clean here and state for the record, I am not a fan of live albums! This is for 2 reasons; firstly if it’s just generally poor quality, it casts a disappointing shadow on what is expected from bands at live shows. Secondly, if it’s good, it causes, in my case, the listener to suffer a form of melancholy at the fact I’ve not had the pleasure of seeing, what sounds like, an amazing live show. In this case I am delighted to say it is the latter, and I will not let my prejudices overshadow this review.

Live In The Heart Of Helsinki is quite frankly an amazing album! It chronicles Soilwork’s greatest hits and, if you are a die-hard fan, you cannot let this spectacular outing pass you by. It is must-have! Play it as loud as possible on the best sound system money can by. Close your eyes and you cannot get closer to the real thing.

If, however, a live CD doesn’t cut it for you and the music and your imagination can’t take you there, Live In The Heart Of Helsinki is also available on DVD, which sadly I have not had the opportunity to view. Nevertheless, any band planning on a live album release in 2015 have their work cut out for them if they want to surpass this work of excellence.

Track Listing:

01. This Momentary Bliss
02. Like The Average Stalker
03. Overload
04. Weapon Of Vanity
05. Spectrum Of Eternity
06. Follow The Hollow
07. Parasite Blues
08. Distortion Sleep
09. Bastard Chain
10. Let This River Flow
11. Long Live The Misanthrope
12. Tongue
13. Nerve
14. The Chainheart Machine
15. The Living Infinite And I
16. Rise Above The Sentiment
17. Late For The Kill Early For The Slaughter
18. Rejection Role
19. Black Star Deceiver
20. As The Sleeper Awakes
21. Sadistic Lullaby
22. As We Speak
23. Stabbing The Drama

Run Time: 1:41:43
Release Date: March 13, 2015

Check out the song “This Momentary Bliss” here.