The Skinny: Relapse Records is excited to share “Requiem For X,” the first track from Goblin Rebirth’s upcoming self-titled album (due June 30, 2015). The group (which features members of Italian film score figureheads Goblin) has made the track available to stream – check it out above!

“The song is a prayer… It starts very sad, but it builds to become furious in the end,” guitarist Giacomo Anselmi says. “It tells the story of the death of a goblin. Fabio (Pignatelli) arranged the entire song. A child was supposed to sing the whistle melody at the beginning, but we changed it — we didn’t want another ‘School at Night.’ It’s unbelievable, a continuous crescendo until the song stops. That’s the moment when X dies.”

Goblin Rebirth Track Listing:

01. Requiem For X
02. Back in 74
03. Book of Skulls
04. Mysterium
05. Evil In The Machine
06. Forest
07. Bolero
08. Rebirth


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.