Extinct is the latest record from Portuguese dark metal masters, Moonspell. Since 1992, and with a good amount of success, the group has been mixing healthy doses of blackened metal into their unique brooding, gothic style. They are a band that is constantly changing, straddling the line between keyboard-driven, almost dancey numbers (“Breathe (Until We Are No More)”) to heavier, more aggressive tunes (“Extinct,” “Funeral Bloom”).

On a number of tracks, Extinct‘s guitar and keyboard work vie for the spotlight while, at times, the lead guitar work is quite spectacular, but it is Fernando Ribeiro’s commanding vocals that take center stage, ultimately tying everything together. He alternates between classic, clean gothic vocals and a thunderous, brash growl that grips you by the throat, demanding your undivided attention.

I have been a Moonspell fan for years and I feel they are at their best when playing heavier, edgier, more melancholic tunes with Ribeiro out front, leading the charge with his throaty snarl; you honestly can’t get much better. With that being said Extinct is unfortunately a mixed bag for me. Songs like “Extinct,” “Malignia,” and “Funeral Bloom” are true metal masterpieces, but others such as “A Dying Breed” and “The Future Is Dark” just don’t seem to get my blood flowing as much as I would have liked.

Extinct Track Listing:

01. Breathe (Until We Are No more)
02. Extinct
03. Medusalem
04. Domina
05. The Last Of Us
06. Malignia
07. Funeral Bloom
08. A Dying Breed
09. The Future Is Dark
10. La Baphomette

Run Time: 45:38
Release Date: March 6, 2015

Check out the song “The Last Of Us”