Very few bands still carry the ’80s NYC hardcore flag like the hardworking stalwarts, Madball. The band has consistently delivered rollicking, aggressive hardcore since the ’80s and, with the release of Hardcore Lives, are showing no signs of slowing up anytime soon.

The title track, “Hardcore Lives,” gets the ball rolling in speedy fashion with a sense of urgency and aggression that is sure to ignite a fire in the mosh pit and create a flesh vortex in the crowd. This is old-school hardcore at its best with an anthemic chorus and an edginess that harkens back to the origins of the genre. In addition to the traditional hardcore themes of rebellion, there are a few songs such as “The Balance” and “Beacon Of Light,” that take on themes of responsibility and the constant battle to balance the career of a touring musician with family.

While I think all of the tracks on Hardcore Lives are terrific, the standout for me is “Doc Marten Stomp” because, while still hardcore, it is a bit different than the rest of the disc. Plus, it has a bad-ass title. Also worth noting is “True School,” which features guest vocals by Terror’s Scott Vogel.

There you have it. A well-rounded release from a band that defies the odds and continues to progress with time. Hardcore Lives is a fantastic record that is sure to please both fans of the band and genre.

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Hardcore Lives
03. The Balance
04. Doc Marten Stomp
05. DNA
06. True School feat. Scott (Terror)
07. The Here and Now
08. Nothing To Me
09. My Armor feat. Toby (H20Hazen St)
10. Beacon Of Light
11. Born Strong feat. Candace (Walls Of Jericho)
12. Spirit
13. Mi Palabra
14. NBNC
15. The Beast
16. For The Judged
Spit On Your Grave 2014

Run Time: 36 minutes
Release Date: June 27, 2014

Check out the song “Born Strong”