Hey death metal fans! Have I got something special for YOU! If you’re one of those dudes who knows his metal, then you’re familiar with the almighty, legendary Malignancy. If you’re familiar with Malignancy, then you know they take their time when they make their albums. Well, metal heads… the wait is no more! Malignancy’s long awaited return is here! Packaged into the sci-fi mindbending brutal death metal experience known as Eugenics!

It’s scary how well these guys pull off technicality while keeping such a low end vibe, as well as maintaining the speed and explosive old-school style they’ve had since day one. With crushing tracks like “Cataclysmic Euphoria” and “Extinction Event”, and the grotesque gut slammer “Separatists” (which might I add has one killer solo that slays this entire album), this album is a true example of the power old school death metal has. If Death Metal was a videogame, these guys would have Max EXP.

One element I particularly enjoyed was how they dabbled in a more theatrical structure and based the album on a Science Fiction-Esq theme. It shows a metal band can involve a more artistic element into their music, rather than just having a generic “blood and guts” gore album. However, I do wish that there was a bit more of that theatrical element in this release, as it would bring out a deeper side of the decrepit story a death metal song can offer.

Nonetheless, this album is great. Although the vocals get to me every now and then, I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in fast-paced, technical death metal that can just blow your mind, as well as blend in slower, mind-boggling riffs that just barely over-power the confusing rhythms and time signatures of the killer drumming portrayed on this album. Death metal fanboys beware… Malignancy is back, and more powerful than ever!

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Type Zero Civilization
03. Eugenics
04. Extinction Event
05. Global Systematic Collapse
06. Cataclysmic Euphoria
07. Separatists
08. Monstrous Indifference
09. Cryptobiosis
10. Creatures of Conformity
11. The breach

Run Time: 32:20
Release Date: October 9, 2012

Check out the song: “Type Zero Civilization”