How do you explain The Ocean to the uninitiated? You could mention sub-genres like prog metal or post metal… but that wouldn’t be fair. You could say that the band have five previous full-lengths spanning 13 years and that most of their records have been written as intricate concept pieces in the double album format. Or you could just sneakily slip a copy of Pelagial into their Christmas stocking and let them judge for themselves.

The latest masterpiece by this ever-evolving juggernaut of a band is truly their most focused, most epic, most poignant work to date. The album concept constitutes a journey from the surface of the ocean to the bottom, expressed by the scientific terms given to each of the five depth zones. In accordance, the album gradually progresses from light to dark, from fleet-footed to sluggish and genuinely delivers on this lofty goal due to diligent songwriting, exceptional musicianship and shamanic vision.

The metal blogosphere is all abuzz over this record right now and many believe Pelegial will be the thing to finally push The Ocean into a bigger bracket. I’m prone to agree with this sentiment after now living with Pelegial for two weeks, basically listening to it on repeat. In fact, I have been so deeply into this record that I haven’t found much inspiration to listen to any of my other assignments. Trust me, it’s that fucking good.

Track Listing:

01. Epipelagic
02. Mesopelagic: The Uncanny
03. Bathyalpelagic I: Impasses
04. Bathyalpelagic II: The Wish in Dreams
05. Bathyalpelagic III: Disequillibrated
06. Abyssopelagic I: Boundless Vasts
07. Abyssopelagic II: Signals of Anxiety
08. Hadopelagic I: Omen of the Deep
09. Hadopelagic II: Let Them Believe
10. Cognitive Dissonance
11. Benthic: The Origin of Our Wishes

Run Time: 53:00
Release Date: April 30, 2013

Check out the song “Bathyalpelagic II: The Wish in Dreams”