A lot of people are waiting to hear Disarm The Descent, the new album from metalcore titans Killswitch Engage what with it being the first album since the band reunited with original vocalist Jesse Leach. You see we all knew that once Howard Jones had left the band, it was only a matter of time before Leach came home and, once he had and the subsequent live shows showed how much of a perfect match the two are, recorded material was a high priority.

So, does Disarm The Descent recapture the glorious days of Killswitch Engage at their finest? Well, absolutely. It’s everything you could want from Killswitch Engage and then some. Disarm The Descent is the follow up to Alive Or Just Breathing that should have always been. From the delicious melodies to the crunching metalcore riffs to Jesse’s blend of clean and screamed vocals, every minute of Disarm The Descent is crushing.

Songs like “New Awakening” continue the blueprint used on Killswitch classics like “My Last Serenade” – songs that are full of huge moshy sections and sections you will be singing along to within one or two listens. Basically, Disarm The Descent sees all the individual components that made Killswitch Engage such a great band all fall into place to make the almost perfect modern metal album. Obviously the whole thing is helped by a flawless production job but, come on, you wouldn’t expect anything else really.

One of the things that always grated about watching Killswitch in concert was the goofing about, but you get none of that on Disarm The Descent as tracks like the galloping “You Don’t Bleed For Me” show, not only a band on top of their A-Game, but a band who are dead set on showing the world that they can recapture the modern metal crown. Disarm The Descent is a polished, pristine slab of modern metal that will not only stand the test of time, but is sure to be held as a classic in years to come.

Track Listing:

01. The Hell In Me
02. Beyond The Flames
03. New Awakening
04. In Due Time
05. A Tribute To The Fallen
06. The Turning Point
07. All That We Have
08. You Don’t Bleed For Me
09. The Call
10. No End In Sight
11. Always
12. Time Will Not Remain

Run Time: 41:12
Release Date: April 01, 2013

Check out the song “The New Awakening”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.