Aluk Todolo’s Occult Rock is not going to be for everyone. According to their bio, the band are an instrumental trio that play, “Occult Rock, a methodical exploration of the powers of musical trance.” Got that? Now, when I read that I immediately thought that the sound was going to be old-style black metal a la Darkthrone’s Transylvanian Hunger or even early Darkrthrone. And true enough opening song “Occult Rock I” (all of the songs are called “Occult Rock”, followed by a number) is a trance-inducing black metal song through and through – minus any shrieks of course. Most of the rest of the songs however, sound like heavy metal with the occasional dose of black metal.

The songs are well-played, and like the bio states, hypnotic with a bit of a creepy bent to them at times. Again, this isn’t stuff that is going to appeal to Jo Blow record buyer. As the album is actually two discs total, with only 8 songs between them and a total run time of 85 minutes, this release takes patience! The release’s length alone will make some would-be buyers run to the hills. Those who sit down and listen through though, will be in for an unusual, yet at times almost spiritual experience.

Track Listing:

01. Occult Rock I
02. Occult Rock II
03. Occult Rock III
04. Occult Rock IV
05. Occult Rock V
06. Occult Rock VI
07. Occult Rock VII
08. Occult Rock VIII

Run Time: 85:00
Release Date: November 20, 2012

Check out the song: “Occult Rock I”