Ahab is a band that I had been hearing about for ages, yet somehow never managed to actually listen to. All I did know prior to putting on this album was that they were some sort of doom (actually the promo describes them as “nautik doom metal”), and that most of their lyrics were based on Moby Dick. It sounded like an odd combo, so I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect.

What I discovered was that The Giant is one of those great albums that while not hooky, nor catchy, manages to captivate you into a trance and suck you into its songs. The music is heavy yet slow, with vocals switching from “clean” to growls which perfectly suits the music. This is one of those released that many will find to be a grower; but some, like me, will take to right away. This is a really good album and I look forward to hearing more from the band.

Track Listing:

01. Further South
02. Aeons Elapse
03. Deliverance (Shouting at the Dead)
04. Antartica the Polymorphess
05. Fathoms Deep Below
06. The Giant

Run Time: 1:00:59
Release Date: May 25, 2012

Check out the song: “Further South”