Under My Skin is a mammoth two disc collection by legendary metal singer Doro Pesch. Even though she’s been playing heavy metal professionally since 1984, Doro never seemed to be able to get the same respect or sales figures as did other metal singers (Ozzy, Dio, or even Motorhead). Sexism probably played the largest role in this as until just recently, metal has always been perceived as a boys club with no girls allowed. This is too bad as Pesch’s works certainly holds up with the best of the genre… as this compilation proves.

It’s hard to describe how good this material is for someone who hasn’t experienced it before. The songs are catchy, heavy and most of all fun, with heavy metal anthems such as “You’re My Family”, “Celebrate” and “Metal Tango” so good that they’ll have you reaching for the repeat button over and over again.

One of the bad things about compilation albums of this size is that there’s generally a ton of filler that you’ll want to skip after hearing it once or twice. In this case however, that rule does not apply. Under My Skin contains all quality material and is a testament to why the woman is considered a legend in the genre. Absolute highlights for me however are: “The Night of the Warlock”, “All We Are” and “You’re My Family” but in reality all of this stuff is good. If you’re into metal and haven’t heard Doro yet, you owe it to yourself to hear her now… and Under My Skin is a great place to start.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
01. All We Are (Version 2007)
02. You’re My Family
03. I Rule the Ruins
04. Celebrate
05. The Night of the Warlock
06. Strange Yesterday
07. Walking With the Angels
08. Metal Tango
09. Thunderspell
10. Herzblut
11. Warrior Soul
12. My Majesty
13. Love Me In Black
14. Fur Immer
15. Always Live to Win
16. Running From the Devil
17. Above the Ashes
18. Let Love Rain on Me

Disc 2:
01. Celebrate (Full Metal Female Version)
02. Rescue Me
03. Rare Diamond (Acoustic Version)
04. Angel In the Dark
05. 1999
06. In Liebe Und Freundschaft
07. I Lay My Head Upon My Sword
08. Tausend Mal Gelebt
09. Wildfire
10. Breaking the Law
11. She’s Like Thunder (Version 2005)
12. The Queen
13. You Won My Love
14. Lonely Wolf

Run Time: 2:02:01
Release Date: August 14, 2012

Check out the song: “You’re My Family”