Growing up I was a huge fan of Ministry; they were one of the bands I could consistently turn to when I wanted to blow off some steam or chuckle while listening to Uncle Al Jorgenson rant and rave about politics, current events and the government. So with great anticipation I dropped the new offering Relapse into my player and sat back for a listen. While the rest of the songs would prove to follow suit, “Ghouldiggers” kicked things off in good old Ministry fashion, laying down a series of familiar and pounding, industrial riffs. Overall these songs are decent, but I do feel the key Ministry elements like aggression, a sense of urgency and having “something to say” are a bit lacking. Listened to on its own I think Relapse is a decent record, but when compared to classics such as Psalm 69 and The Land Of Rape and Honey, I don’t think it stacks up too well.

Track Listing:

01. Ghouldiggers
02. Double Tap
03. Freefall
04. Kleptocracy
05. United Forces
06. 99 Percenters
07. Relapse
08. Weekend Warrior
09. Git Up Get Out ‘n Vote
10. Bloodlust
11. Relapse (Defibrillator Mix)

Run Time: 50:07
Release Date: March 26, 2012

Check out the song: “99 Percenters”